Schoenberg Piano Concerto – Chamber Reduction Tailer

< back to media
  • IMG_0232
  • IMG_0233
  • IMG_0251
  • IMG_0256
  • IMG_0261

I commissioned an adaptation of the Schoenberg Piano Concerto, Op. 42 for a chamber group of 14 players, using Schoenberg’s own distinctive instrumentation of the Kammersymphonie Op. 9, from Hugh Collins Rice (Oriel College, Oxford University), British composer and scholar.

The first public performance of the reduction took place at the Ehrbaarsaal, Vienna on February 2, 2016, directed by Georgi Nikolov with the New Vienna International Symphony Orchestra, programmed alongside the Adagietto from Mahler’s Fifth Symphony and Beethoven Symphony No. 7.

With thanks to Belmont and Schirmer music publishers, who have both kindly given permission for the project